blank'/> THE PUCK REPORT: Canucks Who Left Vancouver & Won Stanley Cup

Sunday, June 11, 2017

Canucks Who Left Vancouver & Won Stanley Cup

The Vancouver Canucks have skated in three Stanley Cup Finals (1982, 1994, 2011) since their NHL debut in 1970. Despite twice taking their Cup Final opponent to Game 7 (1994, 2011), no Canuck has hoisted or had their name etched on the Stanley Cup during their tenure with the club.

A fortunate few, however, have clinched the Stanley Cup with another squad subsequent to their stay with the Canucks. The chart below lists each former Canuck that won the Stanley Cup by year and team.

Year         Former Canuck         Championship Team
2017         Nick Bonino   Pittsburgh Penguin 
2016         Nick Bonino*   Pittsburgh Penguin 
2014 Willie Mitchell   Los Angeles Kings
2012 Willie Mitchell Los Angeles Kings
2010 Brent Sopel Chicago Blackhawks
2009 Matt Cooke Pittsburgh Penguins
2007 Brad May Anaheim Ducks
2006 Bret Hedican Carolina Hurricanes
2004 Jassen Cullimore Tampa Bay Lightning
2002 Jiri Slegr Detroit Red Wings
2000 Alexander Mogilny*      New Jersey Devils
1999 Doug Lidster Dallas Stars
1998 Igor Larionov Detroit Red Wings
1997 Igor Larionov Detroit Red Wings
1994 Doug Lidster* New York Rangers
1993 J.J. Daigneault Montreal Canadiens
1987 Moe Lemay* Edmonton Oilers

*  Won Stanley Cup during 1st season with new team after Canucks.

At least thirteen former Canucks (Lemay, Daigneault, Lidster, Larionov, Mogilny, Slegr, Cullimore, Hedican, May, Cooke, Sopel, Mitchell, Bonino) have hoisted the holy hardware skating with other clubs after their west coast stint, though only four (Lemay, Lidster, Mogilny, Bonino) won the Stanley Cup in the same season they left Vancouver.

Moe Lemay arrived in Edmonton on March 10, 1987 (in exchange for Raimo Summanen) and was part of the Oilers third Stanley Cup win. Doug Lidster was dealt to the New York Rangers on June 25, 1993 (in exchange for John Vanbiesbrouck) and won the Stanley Cup the following season against his former team. Alexander Mogilny was sent to the New Jersey Devils on March 14, 2000 (in exchange for Brendan Morrison and Denis Pederson), where #89 captured the Stanley Cup 89 days later. Nick Bonino was traded to the Pittsburgh Penguins on July 28, 2015 (along with Adam Clendening and in exchange for Brandon Sutter), where he led the Pens in postseason assists en route to a Stanley Cup win.

This season, two Canucks dealt at the trade deadline will compete in the postseason. Alex Burrows joined the Ottawa Senators on February 27, 2017 and will skate against his 2011 Cup Final foe Boston Bruins in the first round. Jannik Hansen was sent to the San Jose Sharks on February 28, 2017 and will meet the Edmonton Oilers in the opening round.

Several former Canucks will skate in the 2017 Stanley Cup Playoffs, suiting up for the Anaheim Ducks (Bieksa, Kesler), Calgary Flames (Bartkowski), Edmonton Oilers (Kassian), Nashville Predators (Weber), New York Rangers (Clendening, Glass, Grabner), Ottawa Senators (Burrows), Pittsburgh Penguins (Bonino, Sestito) and San Jose Sharks (Hansen). A few former Canuck coaches will also be competing this postseason, behind the benches of the Blue Jackets (John Tortorella), Rangers (Alain Vigneault) and Penguins (Mike Sullivan).

With the current Canucks roster sitting out this postseason, here's hoping another alum finds his name on the Stanley Cup this spring.