blank'/> THE PUCK REPORT: The IIHF Triple Gold Club

Wednesday, June 25, 2014

The IIHF Triple Gold Club

Of the over 15,000 World Championship participants seeking gold since 1930, 9,000 that have skated for the Stanley Cup since 1893, and 4,000 that have competed for Olympic Gold since 1920, only 25 players and one coach have won all three titles. These accomplished 26 are recognized with membership in hockey's most exclusive association, the IIHF's Triple Gold Club.

The club includes individuals from Sweden (9), Canada (9), Russia (6), and the Czech Republic (2), of which the majority are forwards (19) with remainder rounded out by defensemen (6) and a coach. No goalies have earned the honor. All members are listed below by date of admission.

Tomas Jonsson (SWE): 2.27.94
Mats Näslund (SWE): 2.27.94
Håkan Loob (SWE): 2.27.94
Valeri Kamensky (RUS): 6.10.96
Alexei Gusarov (RUS): 6.10.96
Peter Forsberg (SWE): 6.10.96
Viacheslav Fetisov (RUS): 6.7.97
Igor Larionov (RUS): 6.7.97
Alexander Mogilny (RUS): 6.10.00
Vladimir Malakhov (RUS): 6.10.00
Rob Blake (CAN): 2.24.02
Joe Sakic (CAN): 2.24.02
Brendan Shanahan (CAN): 2.24.02
Scott Niedermayer (CAN): 5.9.04
Jaromír Jágr (CZE): 5.15.05
Jiří Šlégr (CZE): 5.15.05
Nicklas Lidström (SWE): 2.26.06
Fredrik Modin (SWE): 2.26.06
Chris Pronger (CAN): 6.6.07
Niklas Kronwall (SWE): 6.4.08
Henrik Zetterberg (SWE): 6.4.08
Mikael Samuelsson (SWE): 6.4.08
Eric Staal (CAN): 2.28.10
Jonathan Toews (CAN): 6.9.10
Patrice Bergeron (CAN): 6.15.11

Mike Babcock (CAN): 2.28.10

During a Triple Gold Club induction ceremony held at the 2010 Winter Olympic Games in Vancouver, Zetterberg described the challenges of the different championships and the camaraderie of his co-members.

Of the 26 Triple Gold Club cardholders, only Viacheslav Fetisov, Igor Larionov and Peter Forsberg have completed a Triple Gold Club Double winning each of the requisite three championships twice.

The next logical step in IIHF recognition is the creation of a Quadruple Gold Club adding World Junior Championship gold to the mix. To date, only 10 players (5 Russian, 5 Canadian) have achieved such status (Kamensky, Gusarov, Fetisov, Larianov, Mogilny, Sakic, Neidermayer, Pronger, Toews, Bergeron) with Fetisov and Larionov being the sole pair to turn a Quadruple Gold Club Double, taking each title twice.

No new members were welcomed into the Triple Gold Club this year based on the 2013 Stanley Cup champion Chicago Blackhawks or the 2013 World Hockey Championship gold medal winning team Sweden. Aspiring athletes will have to wait another year before the window opens again on this elite offering.

* See also Olympic Gold And Stanley Cup In Same Year.