blank'/> THE PUCK REPORT: June 2016

Wednesday, June 22, 2016

2016 NHL Individual Awards Winners

When it comes to the NHL Awards, a handful are earned on statistical achievement while the rest are won through votes cast by various organizations depending on the award. The chart below shows the award winners for the 2016 NHL season.

NHL Award              Winner 
Conn Smythe Trophy                              Sidney Crosby
Art Ross Trophy Patrick Kane
Maurice Richard Trophy Alex Ovechkin
Hart Trophy Patrick Kane
Ted Lindsay Award Patrick Kane
Selke Trophy Anze Kopitar
Norris Trophy Drew Doughty
Vezina Trophy Braden Holtby
Jennings Trophy Frederik Andersen/John Gibson
Calder Trophy Artemi Panarin
Jack Adams Award Barry Trotz
GM of the Year Jim Rutherford
Bill Masterton Trophy                        Jaromir Jagr
Lady Byng Trophy Anze Kopitar
King Clancy Trophy Henrik Sedin
Foundation Award Mark Giordano
Messier Award Shea Weber

2016 NHL First All-Star Team honors went to Holtby (G), Doughty (D), Karlsson (D), Crosby (C), Kane (RW) and Benn (LW). The 2016 NHL Second All-Star Team roster was Bishop (G), Burns (D), Letang (D), Thornton (C), Tarasenko (RW) and Ovechkin (LW).  

The 2016 NHL All-Rookie Team was comprised of newcomers John Gibson (G), Shayne Gostisbehere (D), Colton Parayko (D), Jack Eichel (F), Connor McDavid (F) and Artemi Panarin (F).

* See also 2015 NHL Individual Awards Winners.
* See also 2014 NHL Individual Awards Winners.
* See also 2013 NHL Individual Awards Winners.
* See also 2012 NHL Individual Awards Winners.
* See also 2011 NHL Individual Awards Winners.
* See also 2010 NHL Individual Awards Winners.
* See also 2009 NHL Individual Awards Winners.

Sunday, June 12, 2016

2016 NHL Stanley Cup Playoff Handshake Lines

The time-honored tradition of NHL playoff combatants shaking hands upon the conclusion of a series is among the greatest displays of sportsmanship in professional team sports today. Seconds after the horn sounds at the end of a series, players and coaches from both teams convene at center ice to celebrate each other's efforts.

The videos below capture the final moments of play in each series-ending game to date in the 2016 Stanley Cup playoffs along with the ensuing traditional team handshake line, sorted by round and series end date.


The Lightning eliminated the Red Wings in Game 5 on April 21, 2016.

The Sharks eliminated the Kings in Game 5 on April 22, 2016.

The Penguins eliminated the Rangers in Game 5 on April 23, 2016.

The Capitals eliminated the Flyers in Game 6 on April 24, 2016.

The Stars eliminated the Wild in Game 6 on April 24, 2016.

The Islanders eliminated the Panthers in Game 6 on April 24, 2016.

The Blues eliminated the Blackhawks in Game 7 on April 25, 2016.

The Predators eliminated the Ducks in Game 7 on April 27, 2016.


The Lightning eliminated the Islanders in Game 5 on May 8, 2016.

The Penguins eliminated the Capitals in Game 6 on May 10, 2016.

The Blues eliminated the Stars in Game 7 on May 11, 2016.

The Sharks eliminated the Predators in Game 7 on May 12, 2016.


The Sharks eliminated the Blues in Game 6 on May 25, 2016.

The Penguins eliminated the Lightning in Game 7 on May 26, 2016.


The Penguins eliminated the Sharks in Game 6 on June 12, 2016.

In an age of results reigning over respect, it's encouraging to see such sportsmanship in professional sport, albeit with notable exceptions (Milan Lucic 2014), abstention (Martin Brodeur 2008Derek Boogaard 2007, Chris Chelios 2007Darren McCarty 1997, Ed Belfour 1995Billy Smith, Gerry Cheevers) and disdain (Dino Ciccarelli 1996) in recent years.

* See also 2017 NHL Stanley Cup Playoff Handshake Lines.
* See also 2015 NHL Stanley Cup Playoff Handshake Lines.
* See also 2014 NHL Stanley Cup Playoff Handshake Lines.
* See also 2013 NHL Stanley Cup Playoff Handshake Lines.