blank'/> THE PUCK REPORT: June 2014

Tuesday, June 24, 2014

2014 NHL Individual Awards Winners

When it comes to the NHL Awards, a handful are earned on statistical achievement while the rest are won through votes cast by various organizations depending on the award. The chart below shows the award winners for the 2014 NHL season.

NHL Award              Winner 
Conn Smythe Trophy                              Justin Williams
Art Ross Trophy Sidney Crosby
Maurice Richard Trophy Alex Ovechkin
Plus-Minus Award David Krejci
Hart Trophy Sidney Crosby
Ted Lindsay Award Sidney Crosby
Selke Trophy Patrice Bergeron
Norris Trophy Duncan Keith
Vezina Trophy Tuukka Rask
Jennings Trophy Carey Price/Corey Crawford
Roger Crozier Award Josh Harding
Calder Trophy Nathan MacKinnon
Jack Adams Award Patrick Roy
GM of the Year Bob Murray
Bill Masterton Trophy                        Dominic Moore
Lady Byng Trophy Ryan O'Reilly
King Clancy Trophy Andrew Ference
Foundation Award Patrice Bergeron
Messier Award Dustin Brown

2014 NHL First All-Star Team honors went to Rask (G), Keith (D), Chara (D), Crosby (C), Perry (RW) and Benn (LW). The 2014 NHL Second All-Star Team roster was Varlamov (G), Weber (D), Pietrangelo (D), Getzlaf (C), Ovechkin (RW) and Pavelski (LW).  

The 2014 NHL All-Rookie Team was comprised of newcomers Frederik Andersen (G), Torey Krug (D), Hampus Lindholm (D), Tyler Johnson (F), Nathan MacKinnon (F) and Ondrej Palat (F).

* See also 2015 NHL Individual Awards Winners.
* See also 2013 NHL Individual Awards Winners.
* See also 2012 NHL Individual Awards Winners.
* See also 2011 NHL Individual Awards Winners.
* See also 2010 NHL Individual Awards Winners.
* See also 2009 NHL Individual Awards Winners.

Saturday, June 14, 2014

2014 NHL Stanley Cup Playoff Handshake Lines

The time-honored tradition of NHL playoff combatants shaking hands upon the conclusion of a series is among the greatest displays of sportsmanship in professional team sports today. Seconds after the horn sounds at the end of a series, players and coaches from both teams convene at center ice to celebrate each other's efforts.

The videos below capture the final moments of play in each series-ending game to date in the 2014 Stanley Cup playoffs along with the ensuing traditional team handshake line, sorted by round and series end date.


The Canadiens eliminated the Lightning in Game 4 on April 22, 2014.

The Bruins eliminated the Red Wings in Game 5 on April 26, 2014.

The Blackhawks eliminated the Blues in Game 6 on April 27, 2014.

The Ducks eliminated the Stars in Game 6 on April 27, 2014.

The Penguins eliminated the Blue Jackets in Game 6 on April 28, 2014.

The Rangers eliminated the Flyers in Game 7 on April 30, 2014.

The Wild eliminated the Avalanche in Game 7 on April 30, 2014.

The Kings eliminated the Sharks in Game 7 on April 30, 2014.


The Rangers eliminated the Penguins in Game 7 on May 13, 2014.

The Blackhawks eliminated the Wild in Game 6 on May 13, 2014.

The Canadiens eliminated the Bruins in Game 7 on May 14, 2014.

The Kings eliminated the Ducks in Game 7 on May 16, 2014.


The Rangers eliminated the Canadiens in Game 6 on May 29, 2014.

The Kings eliminated the Blackhawks in Game 7 on June 1, 2014.


The Kings eliminated the Rangers in Game 5 on June 13, 2014.

In an age of results reigning over respect, it's encouraging to see such sportsmanship in professional sport, albeit with notable exceptions (Milan Lucic 2014), abstention (Martin Brodeur 2008Derek Boogaard 2007, Chris Chelios 2007Darren McCarty 1997, Ed Belfour 1995Billy Smith, Gerry Cheevers) and disdain (Dino Ciccarelli 1996) in recent years.

* See also 2019 NHL Stanley Cup Playoff Handshake Lines.
* See also 2018 NHL Stanley Cup Playoff Handshake Lines.
* See also 2017 NHL Stanley Cup Playoff Handshake Lines.
* See also 2016 NHL Stanley Cup Playoff Handshake Lines.
* See also 2015 NHL Stanley Cup Playoff Handshake Lines.
* See also 2013 NHL Stanley Cup Playoff Handshake Lines.

Friday, June 13, 2014

Olympic Gold And Stanley Cup In Same Year

Among the rarest of feats in hockey is to win an Olympic Gold Medal and the Stanley Cup in the same season. American Ken Morrow was the first to turn the trick, doing so in 1980.  Since then, only eight players have added their names to this exclusive list.

Year       Player      Olympic Team / NHL Team     
1980 Ken Morrow United States / New York Islanders
2002 Brendan Shanahan      Canada / Detroit Red Wings

Steve Yzerman Canada / Detroit Red Wings
2010 Duncan Keith Canada / Chicago Blackhawks

Brent Seabrook Canada / Chicago Blackhawks

Jonathan Toews Canada / Chicago Blackhawks
2014 Jeff Carter Canada / Los Angeles Kings

Drew Doughty Canada / Los Angeles Kings

The unofficially dubbed "Big Double Club" consists of three defensemen and five forwards. Of the exclusive eight, there are seven Canadians, one American, and three Triple Gold Club cardholders (Shanahan, Yzerman, Toews). No goalies or coaches have yet to crack the club.
Aspiring Big Double Club members will have to wait until the Olympic Winter Games reconvene in South Korea in 2018 to rekindle their quest.

* See also The IIHF Triple Gold Club.